Results tagged “Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2”

New observations from NASA's Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2 (OCO-2) mission is providing insight into how Earth is responding to rising levels of heat-trapping gases in the atmosphere, and what this means for our future climate.

A month after its launch, the Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2, NASA's first spacecraft dedicated to studying atmospheric carbon dioxide - has reached its final operating orbit and returned its first science data.

NASA successfully launched its first spacecraft dedicated to studying atmospheric carbon dioxide at 2:56 a.m. PDT (5:56 a.m. EDT) Wednesday.

NASA held a news conference and science briefing on Sunday, June 29th in advance of the Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2 mission (OCO-2) launch. The launch is at Vandenberg Air Force Base (VAFB) in California, and is scheduled for Tuesday, July 1. Liftoff will be from Space Launch Complex 2 aboard a United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket and is targeted for 2:56 a.m. PDT (5:56 a.m. EDT, 0956 UTC).

NASA's first spacecraft dedicated to measuring carbon dioxide levels in Earth's atmosphere is in final preparations for a July 1 launch from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California.

« Previous  1  Next »